Trends in yarn shopping

Oh dear. I’ve done it again. I’m not sure if it’s a weekend “time to party” sentiment, boredom, or escapism, but I always seem to tumble into impulsive yarn shopping on Fridays (Saturdays are right up there as well). Today’s impulse buy came from a deeply stored tidbit I read somewhere on a knitting blog in the last few weeks – someone out in the blogosphere mentioned purchasing samples from Madelinetosh directly from their website. There I was, digesting some course information, when the inspiration to look hit. It’s funny, I was just this morning listening to a message from Jen Wilkin’s “Abide, 1,2,3 John” study where she is teaching about “the desires of the eyes” and she brought up the age-old “It won’t hurt just to look.” It always hurts to look! Anyway, I’ve got two sample skeins coming: a bfl sock base (new) in an old color, “jade,” and a twist light (75% sw merino, 25% nylon) in “Found Pottery,” a sweet speckled colorway inspired by a piece of pottery someone presumably found. The shipping was flat rate, so it was pretty high, and it made two skeins more affordable than one. I guess I should be glad I didn’t go with the three skein sweater quantity I was originally pondering!

In knitting and spinning, I’ve been revisiting long-ignored wips this week, and I finished a monkey sock in Dream in Color Smooshy, “Beach Fog.” I’d been working on my Dad’s super secret Christmas knitting when the urge to find my Addi Turbos struck. I organized all of my knitting needles without locating the coveted set…before realizing they were in fact tied up with the dormant monkey sock. I quickly put in more than half of the knitting on that sock, finished yesterday, and got the second cast on. I might have gotten a little farther on that, but I received a tiny message that another long-ignored project (try dormant for over a year and on the needles for over two years) might need to be finished soon. Don’t worry, dear reader. It’s a team project, and we’re both done with the bulk of the knitting. It’s the finishing that is going to be logistically and practically challenging!

All I needed to do was want my needles back, and this sock flew.

All I needed to do was want my needles back, and this sock flew.

My grandmother’s hat is finished. Well, unless I add a liner. The result of my colorwork is pretty, but I guess a way to improve the blocking is to try beating the damp wool with a flat ruler or paint stir stick. I may try that, because the beige is still raised. The pattern turned out pretty big, which is what I wanted for curler coverage, but I’m not so sure I’d add the extra length for a normal knit. I kind of want to try it again with a different wool (read: rustic), but then again, I’m awfully sick of that chart.

This photo serves as a reminder that I take rotten photos, often. Selbu Modern, curler cover edition, blocking on an old towel.

This photo serves as a reminder that I take rotten photos, often. Selbu Modern, curler cover edition, blocking on an old towel.

I have another big finish to report. Parrotfish socks are done, yay! They went pretty quick, and they’re pretty fabulous. I just love Sunshine Yarn! I need to keep cranking out socks to boost the gift pile, but sweaters, baby projects, and shawl longings have got me too busy!

A pair-o-parrotfish socks were completed on Sunday. Pattern is Wendelin by Rosemary Waits.

A pair-o-parrotfish socks were completed on Sunday. Pattern is Wendelin by Rosemary Waits.

Finally, after what seems like months (probably close to it, anyway), I finished the first 2 oz of Yarn Love singles. Dang, these are thin. I’d better get some sweet yardage for this effort! I started the second 2 oz, and I think it’s going slower. I tend to get thinner on the back half of the braid, so it’s no surprise. Due to the color blending I’m seeing and the crazy thin spin, I’m going to n-ply. I was hoping for a just-right 2-ply, but I just haven’t been able to produce one. Too thin, too thick, all usable, but not that 400 yard skein of “yes!” I long for. Here’s a photo I took somewhere near the end of the first bobbin.

Here's Charm again. Let's hope I'm spinning consistently!

Here’s Charm again. Let’s hope I’m spinning consistently!

So I’m thinking nobody is coming to my spare office hours. They’d better ace Monday’s test. That’s alls I’m saying! Knit the good yarn!

Leave a Reply

